Scroll To Top

AIDS Groups Announce Definition of HIV Specialist

AIDS Groups Announce Definition of HIV Specialist


The HIV Medicine Association and the International Association of Physicians in AIDS Care announced on October 9 what the groups consider as qualifications for a physician to be designated as an HIV-experienced provider. Both groups believe continuing education and training in addition to ongoing experience treating HIV-positive people are the keys in designating a physician as an HIV-experienced provider. Experience in the area of antiretroviral therapy is especially vital, the groups say. [See HIV Plus's related cover story on doctor expertise, 'Is Your Physician Up to Speed on HIV Care?' in the July 2003 edition, available online.] The definition released by the organizations says doctors must have direct and continuous care with a minimum of 20 patients in the preceding 24 months; have completed 30 hours of category 1 continuing medical education in the diagnosis and treatment of HIV in the preceding 24 months; and have obtained initial certification or recertification in the subspecialty of infectious diseases within the proceeding 12 months. In rural communities where no physicians meet these criteria, HIV caregivers should have an established consultative relationship with at least one doctor who is considered an HIV specialist, according to the guidelines. The full definition of an HIV-experienced caregiver can be found online at

Advocate Channel - The Pride StoreOut / Advocate Magazine - Fellow Travelers & Jamie Lee Curtis

From our Sponsors

Most Popular

Latest Stories

Plus Editors